Molecular Geo- & Palaeobiology Lab
Lab Members » Present
Ksenia Juravel
PhD student in ITN IGNITE (2018-2021)
Deep phylogeny
Supervisor: Gert Wörheide
Dr. Michael Eitel
Project Manager

Dr. Martin Dohrmann
Post Doc (2016 - ongoing)
DFG Research Fellow
Dr. Sergio Vargas
(Assistant Professor)
Dr. Dirk Erpenbeck
Lecturer and Research Scientist
Scientific Lab Manager
Scientific Secretary of the GeoBioCenter at LMU
Dr. Oliver Voigt
Lecturer and Research Scientist
Topic Coordinator Masters Program "Geobiology and Paleobiology"
Dr. Peter Naumann
(Research Aquaria)
Gabriele Büttner
(Lab technician, Molecular Biology)
Simone Schätzle
(Lab technician, Molecular Biology, Aquaria)
Killian Smith
PhD student in ITN IGNITE (2019-2021)
Model development
Supervisor: Gert Wörheide
Ramon Rivera
PhD student in ITN IGNITE (2018-2021)
Sponge holobiont genomics
Supervisor: Gert Wörheide
Fabian Deister
PhD student in SPP "Taxon-OMICS" (DFG funded project on Sponge TaxonOMICs)
2018 -
(Supervisors: Gert Wörheide, Sergio Vargas, Dirk Erpenbeck)
Luis Porras
PhD student (DFG)
Sponge Evolution
(supervisor Gert Wörheide)
Nicola Conci
(PhD student, DFG)
Genetics of coral biomineralization
(supervisor Gert Wörheide & Sergio Vargas)
Adrian Galitz
PhD student 2016
(supervisor Dirk Erpenbeck)

MSc student 2014/15
Implications of phylogeny and secondary metabolites on Collospongia auris and the dictyoceratid clade

BSc student 2013: Climate change and marine organisms: corals

Neda Rahnamae
MGAP Masters Student 2018/2019
Supervisor Dirk Erpenbeck
Madeleine Kündgen
Bachelor Student 2018/2019
Spervisor Dirk Erpenbeck
Emilie Kaltenbacher
MGAP Masters Student 2018/1019
Supervisor Gert Wörheide
Elsa Girard
MGAP Masters Student 2018/2019
Supervisor Gert Wörheide
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Palaeontology & Geobiology